National Grocers Association Honors Top Industry Leaders

March 1, 2016

Las Vegas, NV – The National Grocers Association (NGA) recognized two industry leaders with top awards during the 2016 NGA Show. The following individuals were honored with the below industry awards:

Thomas K. Zaucha Entrepreneurial Excellence Award was presented to Roger Lowe, Sr., President/Chairman of the Board, Lowe’s Markets. Lowe began his career in the grocery industry in 1964 with the purchase of the Lowe family’s first store in Olton, Texas. Founded on the principle of taking care of the community, teammates and family, Lowe has since successfully grown his family-owned grocery business into one of the fastest growing grocery chains in the Southwest with 152 stores in five states.

“It is with great pleasure NGA presents this distinguished award to Roger Lowe, Sr., a man who is deeply admired among the independent supermarket industry, his colleagues, and within his community,” said Peter J. Larkin, president and CEO of NGA.

Since 2009, the Thomas K. Zaucha Award, presented by Mondelēz International and named after NGA’s first president and CEO, has been presented annually to recognize an independent grocer that exemplifies persistence, vision, and creative entrepreneurship. This award is one of the most prestigious honors awarded to independent grocers.

Thomas F. Wenning Pinnacle PAC Award, was awarded to Chris Coborn, president and CEO of Coborn’s Inc. Coborn, a fourth generation supermarket operator, is a strong advocate for NGA government relations initiatives.

“Chris has been an active supporter of NGA’s Grocers Political Action Committee (PAC) and understands the importance of fostering relationships with candidates for Congress who will be supportive of the independent supermarket industry,” said Greg Ferrara, senior vice president of government relations and public affairs, NGA.

The Thomas F. Wenning Pinnacle PAC Award was established in 2014 to honor Tom Wenning for his 40 years of service to NGA and the independent supermarket industry and is presented to an NGA member who helps advance the role and presence of the independent grocer and NGA in government and political affairs.