2020 NGA Show Opens in San Diego

February 24, 2020

San Diego, CA – The 2020 NGA Show, the premier tradeshow for the independent supermarket industry, opened yesterday with a sold-out EXPO floor. Over the next two days, the NGA Show will feature more than 60 educational sessions and more than 100 speakers discussing issues facing food retail.

“The NGA Show continues to grow, providing a place where independent grocers gather to network and learn best practices,” said Greg Ferrara, NGA president and CEO. “Our team is excited about this year’s show and we look forward to further success as we move back to Las Vegas next year for the 2021 NGA Show.”

Yesterday, the show kicked off with a presentation from the Center for Advancing Retail & Technology (CART) titled Independent Retail: What it takes to Thrive in the Age of ‘i’, covering the top technology trends impacting retail in the future.

During the Opening Session, NGA presented Associated Grocers of New England (AGNE) with the inaugural Peter J. Larkin Community Service Award. The creation of the award was announced during the Opening Session at the 2019 NGA Show and is presented to an independent grocer or wholesaler company for their dedication and commitment to the community which they serve.

“AGNE’s commitment to serving their community and employees is a shining example for the independent grocery industry,” said Greg Ferrara, NGA president and CEO. “From their Helping Hands program that offers monetary assistance to employees unable to afford life essential bills to the Volunteer Committee that makes it easier for employees to find opportunities to give back, AGNE makes service to the community and each other part of their mission.”

The day closed with the Opening Keynote address – sponsored by The Kraft Heinz Company – by renowned presidential historian Doris Kearns Goodwin, who provided insight into what made past presidents great leaders and how they overcame challenges that have shaped American history.

Additionally, during the event, the NGA Board of Directors, by recommendation of its nominating committee and subsequent vote by the NGA membership, announced the 2020 Board of Directors, Officers and Executive Committee members, as well as the election of 5 new Board members.

“These additions to the Board of Directors will bring keen insight on the industry that will help the organization enhance resources for our members,” said Greg Ferrara, NGA president and CEO. “I look forward to working with this team over the next year as we develop future strategies to strengthen NGA.”

Appointed Board of Directors Officers and Executive Committee

Chair: Mike Stigers, UNFI

Immediate Past Chair: Cheryl Sommer, Kaune’s Neighborhood Market

Vice Chair: Ted Balistreri, Sendik’s Food Market

Treasurer: David Smith, Associated Wholesale Grocers

Secretary: Jeff Reagan, Wakefern Food Corp.

At-Large: Kim Eskew, Harps Food Stores, Inc.

At-Large: Roger Lowe, Jr., Lowe’s Supermarket

At-Large: Richard Morgan, Jr., North State Grocery Inc.

At-Large: Jeff Reagan, Wakefern Food Corp.

At-Large: Zulema Wiscovitch, Associated Supermarket Group

At Large: John Derderian, Allegiance Retail Services

Incoming Board Members

John Abbene, BRdata

John Bole, Yoke’s Fresh Markets

Emily Coborn, Coborn’s, Inc.

Dave Davis, Utah Food Industry Association

Bob Jaskolski, T.A. Solberg Co. (Trigs)

Lauren Johnson, Newport Avenue Market

Amy Niemetscheck, Certco, Inc.

NGA would like to thank these outgoing board members for their service:

Terrie Baker, Baker’s IGA

Rudy Dory, Newport Avenue Market

Jesse Garcia, Post Consumer Brands

Jan Gee, Washington Food Industry Association

Tim Henderson, Henderson’s IGA

Daniel Shanahan, Buehler’s Fresh Foods

Ray Sprinkle, URM Stores, Inc.

Returning Board Members

John Akins, Akins Market

Randy Arceneaux, Affiliated Foods, Inc.

Jay Ard, The Coca-Cola Company

Neal Berube, Associated Food Stores, Inc.

Jennifer Bosma, Harvest Market

Kimberly M. Brackett, Brackett’s Market IGA

Trent Brookshire, Brookshire Grocery Company

Amy Kirtland, KeHE Distributors

Joe Cavaliere, C&S Wholesaler

Dave Conroy, Fiserv

Ron Graff Jr., Columbiana Foods Inc.

Neil Greenstein, Brookdale/Newark ShopRite

Winston Griffin, Laurel Grocery Co.

Steve Heggelke, Bozzuto’s Inc.

Michelle Hurd, Iowa Grocery Industry Association

Paula Janssen, Janssens Fine Foods

Reed Kessler, Kessler’s Inc.

Kristi Magnuson Nelson, Hugo’s Family Marketplace

Bob McTeir, Merchants Distributors, LLC

Brian Moyer, Freshop

Pete Najjar, Cardiff Seaside Market

Michael Needler Jr.,Fresh Encounter, Inc.

Tony Patrignelli, Unilever

Eligio Pena, Compare Foods

Lori Raya, SpartanNash Company

Kevin Proctor, Save-A-Lot

Gary Redner, Redner’s Markets

Art Rosenberg, PepsiCo, Inc.

Jeff Strack, Strack & Van Til

Michael J. Violette, Associated Grocers of New England, Inc.

Joe Wolf, Alliance Retail Group

Ex-Officio Members

Carole F. Bitter, Ph.D, Friedman’s Freshmarkets

J.H. Campbell, Jr., Associated Grocers, Inc.

Chris Coborn, Coborn’s, Inc.

Michael S. Needler, Sr., Fresh Encounter

John Ross, IGA, Inc.

Steve Smith, K-VA-T Food Stores, Inc.

Joe Sheridan, Wakefern Food Corp.

Rich Nieman, Nieman Foods Inc.