NGA Best Bagger Championship

History of the Best Bagger Competition

Bagging has been an important step for many supermarket employees who have pursued long and rewarding careers in the grocery industry. The National Grocers Association Best Bagger Championship features retailers with infectious company pride and an enthusiastic commitment to customer service.

The first Best Bagging contest was held in 1987 in Dallas, TX. The “Texas – Oklahoma Checkout Shootout” featured two contestants and former NFL Quarterback Terry Bradshaw as the emcee. Since then, NGA has branded and grown the event to feature more than 25 state bagging contestants.

2023 National Championship

Congratulations to 2023 Best Bagger Champion Karli West of Macey’s in Utah! 

Save the Date! 2024 Best Bagger National Championship

The NGA Show
March 10-12

Caesars Forum Convention Center

Las Vegas, NV

Sponsored by: PepsiCo
Best Bagger Contestants

Cheer on your state’s bagger as NGA celebrates over 30 years of bagging excellence at The NGA Show! Elite baggers from across the country vie for the championship title and a $10,000 cash prize during the evening event.

2023 State Competitions and Winners


California Winner: Coby Estrada, Nugget Market


Winner: Austin White, K-VAT Food Stores, Inc.


Winner: Ernesto DaVeiga, Roche Bros. Supermarkets


Winner: Tyler Thorvig, Chris' Food Center


Winner: Karli West, Macey's


Winner: Gaige Sisk, K-VA-T Food Stores, Inc.


Winner: Gabi Doers, Metcalfe's Market


Winner: Nolan McGregor, Fareway Stores


Winner: JDana Sparks, United Supermarket


Winner: Brennan Davenport, Publix

South Dakota 

Winner: Elijah Schipper, Fareway Stores

Rhode Island

Winner: Jianna Truppi, Dave's Marketplace


Winner: Nathan Brtek, Lou's Thriftyway


Winner: Alexis Gilliam, K-VA-T Food Stores, Inc.

Best Bagger Handbook

Click below to view the Best Bagger Handbook outlining the official eligibility requirements, rules, and regulations for the National Championship.

Connect with us on Social Media

Twitter logo  Excited to see your state represented in the National Best Bagger contest? Use the hashtags, #BestBagger to share with the world why your state's contestant deserves to win the crown and take home bagging rights!

Interested in Hosting a Best Bagger Competition?

Please contact the NGA Best Bagger Coordinator at