Press Releases

NGA regularly communicates breaking news on legislative actions and other timely industry information via press releases to the media and general public.  Following is the latest news from NGA.

If you need additional information, please contact Laura Strange at 703-516-8808.

NGA Announces Newly Elected Board of Directors and Executive Committee

Feb 09, 2014

Rich Niemann, Jr.

Las Vegas, NV: The National Grocers Association (NGA), by recommendation of its nominating committee and a subsequent vote by its membership, announced today the 2014 Board of Directors and Executive Committee members, as well as the election of 12 new Board members.

 The Board elected the following officers by ballot:
  • Chairman: Rich Niemann, Jr. - Niemann Foods, Inc.
  • Immediate Past Chairman: Joe Sheridan - Wakefern Food Corp.
  • Vice Chairman: Bob Ling - Unified Grocers
  • Treasurer: Cheryl Sommer - Kaune's Neighborhood Market
  • Secretary: Rich McMenamin - McMenamin Family ShopRite 

Members appointed the 2014 Executive Committee include: 

  • Jerry Garland - Associated Wholesale Grocers
  • Rick Geyer - Geyer's Markets, Inc.
  • Janel Haugarth - SUPERVALU INC.
  • Jim Nilsson - Geissler's Supermarkets, Inc.
  • Barry Queen - Queen Enterprises, LLC
  • Peter Larkin - National Grocers Association 

Newly elected to the 2014 NGA Board of Directors include: 

  • Teresa Baker - Baker's IGA
  • Ted Balistreri - Sendik's Food Markets
  • Rick Brindle - Mondelēz International
  • Rudy Dory - Newport Avenue Market
  • Ron Fong - California Grocers Association
  • Tim Henderson - Henderson's IGA
  • Derek Jones - SpartanNash
  • Ken Nemeth - Central Grocers, Inc.
  • Dan Shanahan - Buehler Food Markets, Inc.
  • Ray Sprinkle - URM Stores, Inc.
  • Terry Thomas - Unilever
  • David Wilkinson - Strack & Van Til 

NGA would also like to thank the following outgoing board members for their service and leadership. 

  • Neal Berube - Associated Food Stores, Inc.
  • Roger Collins - Harps Food Stores, Inc.
  • James Denges - Central Grocers, Inc.
  • Linda Doherty - New Jersey Food Council
  • Kevin Doris - Gerland Corporation
  • Dave Jones - Kellogg Company
  • Brian Lernihan - Unilever
  • James Ried - Olean Wholesale Grocery Cooperative, Inc.
  • Trygve Solberg - T.A. Solberg Company, Inc.
  • Michael Stone - Mollie Stone's Markets 

NGA Partner Promos